Zadoc...& the Nightmare Discography

Songs of the Vampire (version 1)

Blood and Rain

Songs of the Vampire (version 1)

Songs of the Vampire (version 2)

...As the Curtain Falls...

Zadoc: Vampire Theatre

Beyond Our Eyes

Buried Alive!

Tragically Ever After

[Track Listing]
1. Passing the Gates
2. The End of Time
3. All I Have Got (May Be You)
4. The Embrace
5. Falling In Love With Strangers
6. Away
7. I'm Still Standing

(version 1 - studio recording)
[Line up:]
Zadoc [Vocals, Guitars, Sequencing and Arrangements]
Kirk Brinley [Guitars]
Jeff Densmore [Bass]
May 1995 - Cassette Only
(Currently Out of Print)

Dave Huyck
Kirk Brinley

Dave Huyck (Engineer)

  • This album was originally not intended to be an experiment with sequenced arrangements and electronic drums as it turned out to be.  Drummer Rich Hough took a trip out of state and failed to return in time for the studio session.  Taking matters into his own hands, and with unanimous agreement from both Jeff and Kirk, Zadoc meticulously (and quickly) programmed drum arrangements for five songs.
  • Finding a true love and respect for the power of computer sequenced music, Zadoc delved deeper and bought himself a synthesizer.  The other two songs that appear on this recording, "Passing the Gates" and "The Embrace" were recorded afterwards at home as they were simple synthesizer tracks lacking the need for guitar and bass.
  • Lacking a dedicated drum machine (as well as the funds to purchase one), Dave Huyck allowed Zadoc to sneak in and digitally sample drums sounds from other bands that were then recording at Eastwind Studios.  Amongst the drummers Zadoc sampled was Born Again Savages drummer I.M. Illin', who ironically would wind up drumming for the band six years later.  (Zadoc wound up happily using a sample of Illin's bass drum for some months.)
  • Unfortunately, this album got shelved prematurely as the band's sound started to develop more of an electronic edge to it.  After a few months it was deemed that the sound on the album hardly represented the band's live performances which was developing Gothic overtones as opposed to the straight 80's Metal sounds of some of the songs on the album.  Therefore few copies were produced, and still fewer probably exist.
  • The cover photograph is from the band's April 8th, 1995 performance at the Lost Horizon.  The cover was photocopied for quick and cheap distribution.
[Recording, Mixing, and Mastering] Dave Huyck
Eastwind Studios

Recorded on 16 track 1" Reel
Mastered on Type-II High Bias Audio Cassette and DAT

[Album Artwork]
[Front Cover Artwork] Concept and Design by Zadoc
[Logo] Designed by Zadoc, Kirk Brinley, and Nico Gerritsen
Illustrated by Zadoc
[Booklet Layout and Design] Zadoc (in progress)
[Photography] Mark Stevens
[Financing] Zadoc and Kirk Brinley
Approximately $350 for Recording, Mixing, and Mastering

From "Blood and Rain" to "Songs of the Vampire"
  • May 1993 - Bassist Matt Conn leaves the band
  • June 1993 - Zadoc plays their first show ever for the annual biker bash dubbed "Fred Fest" without a bass player
  • September 1993 - Jeff Densmore volunteers to join the band as the band's bass player.  He had no prior musical experience and needed to be taught from scratch.
  • October 1993 - Zadoc meets future bandmates RaYzor and Dan Gober at a Halloween party.
  • December 1993 - Drummer Rich Hough is fired.  RaYzor 'Dizzy' Castaldo is hired as his replacement.
  • June 1994 - The band begins playing club dates, debuting at the Lost Horizon on June 16th, 1993.
  • July 1994 - The band plays their second annual Fred Fest - to a far better response.
  • November 1994 - RaYzor Castaldo leaves to join 99 Special.  Rich Hough is given a second chance and is rehired.
  • December 17th 1994 - The band unknowingly plays their final show as a traditional rock band.  This show marks the first time Zadoc experiments with stage makeup. Future bandmate The Jester attends this show.
  • February 1995 - Rich Hough pulls one of his famous disappearing acts, traveling down to Indiana to stay with relatives for what he claimed would only be 'two weeks'.  The band made studio preparations for this month and upon Richie's absence decided to continue on with the session using an Amiga computer to play sequenced drum beats.
  • Late February 1995 - Recording sessions for "Songs of the Vampire" begin at Eastwind Studios.


Others who've worked on the album or have been approached to do so at various stages of production
  • RaYzor Castaldo - Amicably left the band a few months prior to the recording to join 99 Special.
  • Rich Hough - Left the band prior to the recording, leaving the band stranded only a week before the studio session without a drummer.  Inadvertently helped change the sound of the band by forcing Zadoc and computer sequencing together.
  • Dave Huyck - Helped re-EQ "No More Goodbyes" at Eastwind Studios


Album Concept Art and Photographs
The original cassette J-card packaging